Each year NHA sponsors several national awards with the winners being chosen from a field of regional award winners. In addition to the Performance Awards, there are also awards which give recognition to individuals who have made significant contributions to the rotary wing community and the goals of the Naval Helicopter Association. The NHA national and regional awards are an important means to recognize outstanding performance within Rotary Wing and Tilt Rotor Aviation.

Click on the links below for more information in regards to NHA national and regional awards and submissions.

Awardee Policy

Awards Guidelines

Nomination Templates

NHA Award Membership Requirements

NHA Leadership Listing

CY 2023 NHA Award Nomination MSG

CY 2022 NHA Award Nomination Msg

CY 2021 NHA Award Nomination Msg

CY 2021 NHA Award Winners Msg

NHA National Awardees

       Award Winners for CY2022

Award Winners for CY2021

Award Winners for CY2020

Award Winners for CY2019

Award Winners for CY2018

Award Winners for CY2017

Award Winners for CY2016

Award Winners for CY2015

Award Winners for CY2014

Award Winners for CY2013


NHA Regional Awardees

Regional Award Winners for CY2021

Regional Award Winners for CY2020

Regional Award Winners for CY2019

Regional Award Winners for CY2018

Regional Award Winners for CY2017

Regional Award Winners for CY2015



Award nominations are for calendar year events (01 Jan - 31 Dec), vice fiscal year.

November, 2023 - Naval Message to all rotary commands and letters sent to commanding officers requesting nominations for awards. 

31 December 2023 - Award data period closes for CY2023.

20 January 2024 - Nomination packages for all awards must be forwarded to your respective NHA Regional President  (exception of RADM Steven Tomaszeski Squadron Commanding Officer Leadership Award)

10 February 2024 - Nomination packages for RADM Steven Tomaszeski Squadron Commanding Officer Leadership Award must be submitted directly to the National NHA VP for Awards  by ISICs (i.e. USN Commodores, USCG Area/District COs, or USMC MAG COs). 

10 February 2024 - Regional Award nominations due to CDR  David "Houston" Eckardt National NHA VP for Awards.

March 2024 - A naval message will be released announcing National NHA award winners.


Points of Contact for Award Submissions

NHA Regional Map - NHA Regional Map

National Awards
CDR David "Houston" Eckardt ,USN 
Executive Officer, HSC-21
NHA VP Awards

Regional Awards
Region 1
CDR Scott "Ace" Lippincott
Commanding Officer, HSM-73
Naval Air Station North Island P.O. Box #357055
San Diego, California 92135
(619) 545--7087/(619) 545-7082

Region 2
CDR Tony Perez, USN
CDR Patrick Jeck, USN (Ret.)
Air Warfare (N98), RM 5D453
2000 Navy Pentagon
Washington, DC 20350
(703) 695-1669
Email CDR Jeck or call (703) 695-2210

Region 3
CDR David Bigay, USN
Commanding Officer, HSM-40
P.O. Box 280118
Jacksonville, FL 32228-0118
(904) 270-6332,  extension 228
FAX: (904) 270-5561
Region 4
CDR Matt Wright, USN
Commanding Officer, HSC-2
524 A Street
Norfolk, VA 23511-4010
(757) 445-4791

Region 5
CDR Keith Johnson, USN
Commanding Officer, HT-8
NAS Whiting Field
7413 Enterprise Street Suite 101
Milton, FL 32570-6011
(850) 623-7671 or DSN 868-7671

Region 6
CDR Tommy McDonald, USN
Commanding Officer, HSM-51
NAS Atsugi, Japan

FPO AP 96601-5561
DSN: (315) 264-3317